Recovering From The Effects Of Morning Filter Coffee

The chorus of dog barks comes in Surround Sound. For some reason the sound reaching my ears is so clear and sharp that it feels as all the walls have vanished.

Maybe it is the parting gift of coffee leaving my system, putting up a parody of Cavafy’s Απολειπειν ο Θεος Αντωνιον as it does so

A few moments ago I remembered a girl’s face that I haven’t seen since in what seems several lifetimes ago. And her name. Perhaps that too was a parting gift, one that I should at least be grateful for.

Leave a Reply

