I’ve been trying to think of a post that will bring me at least ten comments for about a week now.

Still nothing.

I’ve been eating a lot of salads lately. By which I have discovered that most places in this town serve shit salads.

Throughout my life I’ve never been a typical sample of an island native. My inability to worship meat and consume it in great quantities was one of the traits that would out me as a foreign spy and lead to my execution if this was some alternative reality autocratic state.

Of course this may have been purely out of circumstance; where I to have been born in a rich family I might have been raised on a diet of daily steak. I never claim that this was a conscious choice but at the same time I made the conscious choice not to change course on the matter.

I am not a vegetarian nor do I envisage myself ever becoming one; the incredible variety of tastes and textures that cooked meat provides to the experience of life is not something I am willing to forsake.

Yet, having reduced my meat consumption during the last few weeks, I’ve come to crave it a lot less than I had imagined; minced meat in particular seems to be something that I hardly miss at all. At the same time I have found myself viewing excessive meat consumption as obscene, something that is nothing less than hubris against creation.

Following up on that, and provided that I don’t win the lottery and have daily  steak banquets and a live-in ensemble of asian chefs, I envisage myself continuing these low levels of meat consumption for the indefinite future. Perhaps I might elevate the days when I eat a curry or a steak into profound meditative and spiritual events to make the feeling especially rewarding; although it has to be said that this fuckin city doesn’t have any place where you can eat a half-decent curry or steak. Just as well, maybe.

Fun story: A brazilian guy was visiting Cyprus for the first time. Now, as you know Brazilians have a thing for beef. As in they have it for breakfast lunch and dinner. And ok, their beef is ranked among the top in the world for steaks

Anyway, he is introduced to an Indian guy who is vegetarian on religious grounds. When he first hears it he cannot believe it. He asks “How can you live?! How is this even possible?!” with all the shock of someone who finds out that the hot chick who took home with him is a transexual. Following repeated assurances from the other guy that he can survive without meat our Brazilian lets out a sigh and says almost crying “My friend..you don’t know what you are missing!”

Adios!

2 thoughts on “

  1. Meh. What do you need 10 comments for anyway? I think you’re better off

Leave a Reply

